Buy online. Delivered to your door. Backed by 15 Atlanta service centers after the sale. BMW, Audi, Lexus, Acura, Toyota, Honda, Kia & Hyundai — 7-day / 1,000-mile return on eligible online purchases.
View InventoryAtlanta's Luxury & Premium SUV Comparison Authority Since 1918
BMW X5, GLE, Q7, Lexus RX, Acura MDX, Grand Highlander, Pilot, Telluride & Palisade — Which Is Right for You?
BMW X5, Mercedes GLE, Audi Q7, Lexus RX, Acura MDX, Grand Highlander, Pilot, Telluride & Palisade — real specs, verified towing ratings, PHEV ranges, and MPG data from a dealer that sells and services eight of these nine brands as a factory franchise. Buy online, delivered to your Atlanta door.
Step 2 of 3Not sure a luxury SUV is the right shape for you? Budget, lifestyle, and what it costs to own in Georgia come first.
Compare all four body stylesMetro Atlanta Car Buying GuideShop Your Way
Find Your SUV Online. We Bring It to Your Door.
Use Clicklane to complete your entire purchase from your couch — browse, finance, trade in, sign. Then choose delivery to your home anywhere in Georgia — or anywhere else in the country — or pick up at any Nalley location. You get a full 7-day / 1,000-mile try-it period on every purchase.
Browse & Pick Your SUV
Filter by model, row configuration, towing capacity, or monthly payment. Real inventory, real pricing.
Finance & Trade In Online
Get an instant trade-in offer. See real payment options from multiple lenders.
Sign & Schedule Delivery
Complete all paperwork digitally. We deliver to your door anywhere in the country, or you pick up at any Nalley location.
7-Day / 1,000-Mile Try It Period
Load it up. Tow with it. Road trip to Blue Ridge. Return it within 7 days or 1,000 miles if it's not right.
- Day return window
- 7
- Mile try-it period
- 1,000
- Restocking fee
- $0
- Nationwide delivery
- US
Drive it on GA-400. Haul it to Lake Lanier. Road trip to Blue Ridge. Then decide.
Spec Sheet — Verified September 2026
All 9 Nameplates Side by Side — Specs, Towing, Cargo, Safety & Ownership.
Every figure verified against manufacturer press and media sites, IIHS or NHTSA in September 2026, base trim unless noted. Three of these nameplates change generation for 2027 — Kia built no 2026 Telluride at all, and all-new versions of the BMW X5 and Audi Q7 arrive as 2027s — so each row names the year it describes. NHTSA overall ratings carry the model year that was tested, since not every nameplate has been rated in its current year. Use the tabs to compare across five categories.
← Swipe to see all models →
| Specification | Lexus RX | Acura MDX | Toyota Grand Highlander | Honda Pilot | Kia Telluride | Hyundai Palisade | BMW X5 | Mercedes GLE | Audi Q7 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Segment | Luxury Midsize 2-Row | Luxury Midsize 3-Row | Premium Midsize 3-Row | Premium Midsize 3-Row | Premium Midsize 3-Row | Premium Midsize 3-Row | Luxury Midsize 2-Row | Luxury Midsize 2/3-Row | Luxury Midsize 3-Row |
| Starting MSRPExcludes destination so all nine compare on one basis. Destination by brand: Lexus $1,550 (Lexus publishes MSRP including it, so it is removed here), Acura $1,350, Toyota $1,495, Honda $1,595, Kia $1,545, Hyundai $1,495, BMW $1,450, Mercedes-Benz $1,250, Audi $1,295 | $51,225 | $51,800 | $41,360 (launch price) | $42,395 | $39,190 (2027) | $38,935 | $70,600 | $62,250 | $62,000 |
| Top Trim MSRPHighest non-performance trim, excluding destination. The M, AMG and S variants sit above these: X5 M Competition $132,450, AMG GLE 53 from $97,000, Audi SQ7 $93,800 | $71,860 (RX 450h+ Luxury) | $75,850 (Type S Advance) | $59,275 (Hybrid MAX Platinum, launch price) | $55,195 (Black Edition) | $56,790 (X-Pro SX Prestige AWD) | $58,280 (Hybrid Calligraphy AWD) | $93,600 (M60i) | $90,000 (GLE 580) | $76,900 (Prestige) |
| Rows / Seating | 2 rows / 5 | 3 rows / 7 | 3 rows / 7 or 8 | 3 rows / 8 (7 TrailSport) | 3 rows / 7; 8-passenger bench on lower trims | 3 rows / 7 or 8 | 2 rows / 5 — no 3rd row offered | 2 rows / 5, 3rd row optional | 3 rows / 7 |
| Base Engine | 2.4L Turbo I-4 | 3.5L V6 | 2.4L Turbo I-4 | 3.5L V6 | 2.5L Turbo I-4 | 3.5L V6 | 3.0L Turbo I-6 MHEV | 2.0L Turbo I-4 MHEV | 2.0L Turbo I-4 |
| Base Horsepower | 275 hp | 290 hp | 265 hp | 285 hp | 274 hp (2027) | 287 hp | 375 hp | 255 hp | 261 hp (45) / 335 hp (55) |
| Base Torque | 317 lb-ft | 267 lb-ft | 310 lb-ft | 262 lb-ft | 311 lb-ft | 260 lb-ft | 398 lb-ft | 295 lb-ft | 273 lb-ft |
| Top Performance | 366 hp (RX 500h) | 355 hp (Type S) | 362 hp (Hybrid MAX) | 285 hp — no upgrade | 329 hp Hybrid (2027) | 329 hp Hybrid | 523 hp (M60i) | 603 hp (AMG GLE 63 S) | 500 hp (SQ7) |
| AWD Available | Standard on most trims | SH-AWD standard most trims | Standard all trims | Optional or standard | Optional all trims | Optional all trims | xDrive standard | 4MATIC standard | quattro standard |
| Hybrid Available | 350h / 450h+ / 500h | Gas only | Hybrid / Hybrid MAX | Gas only | Hybrid (2027) | Hybrid | Mild hybrid std + PHEV | Mild hybrid std + PHEV | Gas only |
| PHEV Available | RX 450h+ (38 mi) | No | No | No | No | No | xDrive50e (38 mi) | GLE 450e (49 mi) | Not for 2026 |
| Transmission | 8-spd auto / CVT (hybrid) | 10-spd auto | 8-spd auto / ECVT (hybrid) | 10-spd auto | 8-spd auto | 8-spd auto | 8-spd auto | 9-spd auto | 8-spd auto |
| Vehicle LengthAudi publishes no length for the Q7; that figure is third-party | 192.5 in. | 198.4 in. | 201.4 in. | 200.1 in. | 199.2 in. (2027) | 199.2 in. | 194.3 in. | 194.3 in. | ~199.3 in. |
| Ground ClearanceBMW publishes no ground clearance figure for the X5 in any market | 8.07 in. (8.15 in. RX 350h) | 7.3 in. (6.7–9.4 in. Type S air susp.) | 8.0 in. | 7.3 in. | 9.1 in. X-Pro · 7.4 in. others | 7.4 in. (8.4 in. XRT PRO) | Not published | ~8.0 in. | ~7.9 in. |
Every figure verified against manufacturer press and media sites, IIHS or NHTSA in September 2026. Base trim unless noted. Three of these nameplates change generation for 2027 — Kia built no 2026 Telluride at all, and all-new versions of the BMW X5 and Audi Q7 arrive as 2027s — so rows name the model year they describe. Where a manufacturer has not published a figure, the cell reads 'Not published' rather than carrying an estimate. NHTSA overall ratings are labeled with the model year tested, because not every nameplate has been rated in its current year; where no overall rating exists, a test is incomplete rather than failed. Fuel economy figures are EPA estimates unless marked as a manufacturer estimate. Annual fuel cost assumes 15,000 miles a year at $4.04/gallon regular (AAA metro Atlanta, September 2026); Georgia drivers average about 16,400 miles a year per licensed driver on FHWA's 2023 data, and models specifying premium fuel cost more. Towing above 5,000 lbs requires the factory hitch or towing package. Verify current specifications with your Nalley sales associate before purchase.
Know Your Segment
German Luxury vs. Japanese Luxury vs. Premium Mainstream — which tier fits your life?
These nine SUVs span several distinct tiers. Understanding which tier fits your life saves you from paying for features you don't need — or missing ones you do.
German Luxury Tier — BMW X5, Mercedes GLE & Audi Q7 ($62K–$96K)
The German trio prioritizes driving engagement, performance variants, and brand prestige. The BMW X5 leads on driver dynamics and towing (7,200 lbs). The Mercedes GLE leads on comfort, PHEV range (49 miles), and towing (7,700 lbs — highest in this comparison). The Audi Q7 is the only German here with a standard 3-row seat. All three require premium fuel, have below-average resale values versus Japanese luxury, and offer PHEVs. BMW's 3-year free maintenance is the best in the group.
Japanese Luxury Tier — Lexus RX & Acura MDX ($51K–$75K)
Premium materials, brand prestige, factory-certified service, and measurably better resale values. The Lexus RX is the best-selling luxury vehicle in America — it holds its value better than almost anything on this list. The Acura MDX adds a third row for families who want luxury without going full-German. Key tradeoffs: smaller cargo, no hybrid on the MDX, and a premium fuel requirement on both.
Premium Family Tier — Grand Highlander & Honda Pilot ($41K–$59K)
The practical sweet spot. Both seat 7–8, tow 5,000 lbs, and have proven reliability track records. The Grand Highlander's hybrid is the most efficient three-row SUV on the market at 36 mpg combined — though that figure belongs to the front-drive XLE alone; all-wheel drive is 34 and the Hybrid MAX is 27. The Pilot's 113.7 cu ft of maximum cargo, measured on Honda's SAE J1100 basis for the TrailSport, leads this entire comparison. Neither has the brand cachet of Lexus or Acura, but both will cost significantly less to own over 10 years.
Premium Value Tier — Telluride & Palisade ($39K–$57K)
The most disruptive category. Both are freshly redesigned — the Palisade for 2026, the Telluride as a 2027 after Kia skipped the 2026 model year entirely — and both come with the industry's best warranty (10yr/100K powertrain), and deliver interior quality that rivals vehicles costing $10–15K more. The 2027 Telluride and the Palisade both tow 5,000 lbs, and the Telluride X-Pro adds genuine off-road hardware. The 5,500 lb rating belonged to the 2025 X-Pro and did not carry over to the new generation. The Palisade Calligraphy competes directly with the Acura MDX on interior luxury at a significantly lower price point.
Hybrid & Efficiency: Who Should Buy One?
If you drive 15,000+ miles per year, the hybrid premium pays back in 2–3 years. The Lexus RX 350h (36 mpg) and Toyota Grand Highlander Hybrid (36 mpg on the front-drive XLE, 34 with all-wheel drive) lead the field. The Palisade Hybrid (34 mpg) arrived for 2026 and the Telluride Hybrid (31 mpg AWD) for 2027. Atlanta commuters on GA-400, I-285, and Cobb Parkway benefit most — stop-and-go traffic is where hybrids shine, recapturing energy on every brake. The Lexus RX 450h+ PHEV adds 38 miles of all-electric range for the Alpharetta or Roswell commuter who rarely exceeds 30 miles each way.
Atlanta Driving Reality
What these nine cost once the badge stops mattering.
Tow ratings with their equipment requirements attached, the parking-deck numbers that actually decide it, what IIHS has rated for 2026, and the incentive most shoppers still think exists.
Towing to Lanier and Allatoona, with the fine print
Every rating on this page comes with a condition. The GLE tows 7,700 lbs and the X5 7,200 — but the X5 figure requires the factory-installed hitch, and Mercedes does not state its hitch requirement, so confirm before you rely on it. Among the mainstream three-rows, the Telluride, Palisade, Pilot, and Grand Highlander all top out at 5,000 lbs: the Palisade needs trailer brakes (1,650 lbs without) and its hybrid maxes out at 4,000, the Pilot's number is AWD-only and drops to 3,500 in 2WD, the Grand Highlander reaches 5,000 with either the 2.4-litre turbo gas engine or the Hybrid MAX while the standard hybrid tows 3,500, and the Telluride's redesign dropped the old 5,500 lb X-Pro rating to 5,000, with the new Hybrid rated 4,500.
Compare tow ratingsBuckhead decks and the Battery garages
The Lexus RX is the shortest here at 192.5 inches — not the 186 that circulates, but still the easiest of the nine in a tight Buckhead deck or an end-of-row stall at the Battery. The X5 and GLE follow at 194.3. Everything with a usable third row runs from roughly 198 to 201 inches: the MDX at 198.4, the Telluride and Palisade at 199.2, the Q7 at about 199.3 on third-party figures since Audi publishes none, the Pilot at 200.1, and the Grand Highlander at 201.4 — the longest of the nine.
See every dimensionWhat IIHS has actually rated for 2026
Four of the nine hold a 2026 award. The Palisade is a Top Safety Pick+, but only on vehicles built after November 2025 — early 2026 builds are not covered, so check the door jamb. The X5 is also a Top Safety Pick+. The all-new 2027 Telluride earns a Top Safety Pick+ on builds after June 2026, and its headlights rate Good on those builds against Marginal on anything built before July 2026. The Q7 is a Top Safety Pick — a Pick, not a Pick+, and rated in the large-SUV class. The RX, MDX, Grand Highlander, Pilot, and GLE hold no 2026 award; the GLC won one, the GLE did not. Three of those five did win in 2025: the MDX and Pilot as Top Safety Picks, the GLE as a Pick+.
Compare safety row by rowThe PHEV incentive that no longer exists
The federal clean vehicle credit terminated for vehicles acquired after September 30, 2025, and Georgia's own purchase credits expired back in 2015 — so none of the three plug-in hybrids here can be bought with a purchase credit today. Two narrow Georgia credits do survive, but neither helps a retail buyer: a 10 percent credit capped at $2,500 on business-only EV charging equipment, and a 10 percent credit capped at $2,500 on a converted vehicle, which explicitly excludes hybrids. The single-occupant HOV exemption expired on the same September 2025 date, GA-400 has no HOV lanes at all, and the Alternative Fuel Vehicle plate carries an annual fee of $238.59 for non-commercial vehicles — about $293.59 a year once the $20 registration and $35 special-tag fees are added, plus a one-time $25 manufacturing fee and your ad valorem — without granting lane access. A PHEV still makes sense on a fixed commute you can cover on electricity. It does not make sense as a tax play.
Hybrid or electric in Atlanta?The hybrid gap on a GA-400 commute
At 15,000 miles a year and $4.04 a gallon (AAA metro Atlanta, September 2026), the 36 mpg RX 350h and the front-drive XLE Grand Highlander Hybrid each run about $1,685 in fuel — the all-wheel-drive hybrid is 34 mpg and about $1,780, and the Hybrid MAX 27 mpg and about $2,245. The 22 mpg MDX and Pilot land near $2,755, and the 20 mpg all-wheel-drive Palisade near $3,030 — call it $1,070 a year between a hybrid three-row and a V6 one. The three German entries all specify premium fuel, which adds to whatever their combined figures turn out to be; BMW and Mercedes publish no combined number for the X5 or GLE. Georgia drivers average about 16,400 miles a year per licensed driver, which widens all of it.
Shop hybrid SUVsHead-to-Head Comparisons
The matchups Atlanta luxury & premium SUV shoppers are searching for.
Each comparison links to the full spec table above and to Nalley inventory. Every vehicle on this page is available online through Clicklane with a 7-day / 1,000-mile return.
Lexus RX vs. Acura MDX
The luxury segment's two most practical choices — one refined 2-row icon, one 3-row performance luxury SUV.
Kia Telluride vs. Hyundai Palisade
Freshly redesigned on both sides — the Palisade for 2026, the Telluride as a 2027 after Kia skipped 2026 entirely. The segment's best warranty on both.
Toyota Grand Highlander vs. Honda Pilot
Toyota reliability meets Honda practicality — two proven family workhorses with very different strengths.
Acura MDX vs. Toyota Grand Highlander
Is the luxury premium worth it? Honest comparison between Acura's flagship 3-row and Toyota's most capable family SUV.
Lexus RX vs. Hyundai Palisade Calligraphy
Near-identical price, dramatically different vehicle. One is the luxury benchmark; one is the segment's biggest value disruptor.
BMW X5 vs. Lexus RX
The driver's SUV versus the reliability benchmark — two different definitions of luxury at different price points.
Mercedes GLE vs. Acura MDX
MBUX opulence versus SH-AWD sport — two 3-row luxury SUVs with very different personalities.
Audi Q7 vs. Toyota Grand Highlander
Quattro composure against hybrid efficiency — is the $20K luxury premium worth it?
PHEV Buyer's Guide
What Is a PHEV — and Is One Right for Your Atlanta Commute?
Three of the nine SUVs on this page offer plug-in hybrid powertrains: the Lexus RX 450h+, the BMW X5 xDrive50e, and the Mercedes GLE 450e. Here's what PHEV actually means, why it matters for Atlanta drivers, and a full side-by-side breakdown of all three.
What Is a PHEV?
A Plug-in Hybrid Electric Vehicle runs on pure electricity for a set number of miles — then automatically switches to a gasoline hybrid engine when the battery depletes. Unlike a standard hybrid (which charges itself through braking), a PHEV plugs into your home outlet or a public charger overnight.
Real-world example: An Alpharetta-to-Buckhead commute is about 28 miles each way. With a charged PHEV battery, you drive to Buckhead on electricity (zero gas). On the way home, the gas engine kicks in. Result: roughly half your commute miles cost electricity-rate pennies instead of gasoline dollars.
Home Charging — What You Need
All three PHEVs include a cable that plugs into a standard 120V household outlet — but it's slow (8+ hours). The better setup is a 240V Level 2 home charger. The Department of Energy puts the charger unit alone at $400 to $1,000, and labor, permits and any panel upgrade come on top of that, so budget the install separately rather than assuming one flat price. Georgia Power rebates up to $300 on a residential Level 2 charger, which takes the edge off. With Level 2, all three PHEVs fully charge overnight in under three hours.
Georgia Power EV rate: the overnight super off-peak window is where plug-in charging gets cheap — check your current rate and hours with Georgia Power, since the schedule changes. On the Overnight Advantage plan that window runs about 5.66¢ per kWh once the 3.4747¢ time-of-use fuel cost recovery is added to the 2.1859¢ base rate, so charging the largest PHEV battery here (BMW X5: 25.7 kWh) costs roughly $1.45 to $1.65 per full charge — covering the X5’s 38 EPA-estimated electric miles.
Georgia HOV Lanes — No Plug-in Advantage
An earlier version of this page said a plug-in got you solo access to Georgia HOV lanes. That is no longer true, and we would rather correct it than leave it up. The federal provision that let alternative-fuel vehicles use HOV lanes with a single occupant expired on September 30, 2025. Since then an AFV-plated vehicle must carry two or more occupants, exactly like any other vehicle.
Three related corrections. Georgia’s program is the Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) plate — there is no “CEV” plate. The annual AFV fee is $238.59 for a non-commercial vehicle as of July 1, 2026, and the plate costs about $293.59 a year all in once the $20 registration and $35 special-tag fees are counted, plus a one-time $25 manufacturing fee and your ad valorem — a cost rather than a benefit if a lane was the reason. And GA-400 has no HOV lanes at all: Georgia’s HOV network is I-20, I-75 and I-85. It does have tolled express lanes, which are a different thing — those run on I-85 in Gwinnett, the I-75 Northwest Corridor and I-75 South Metro, and they are open to anyone willing to pay. The GA-400 Express Lanes broke ground in April 2026 and are not expected to finish until about 2031.
Federal Tax Credit — No Longer Available
The federal Clean Vehicle Tax Credit terminated for vehicles acquired after September 30, 2025, under Public Law 119-21. That applies to all three plug-ins on this page, and to the used and commercial clean-vehicle credits as well. There is no VIN-by-VIN eligibility left to check and no partial credit available.
Georgia has offered no state EV or plug-in purchase credit since its own credits expired in 2015. Two narrow credits do survive, and neither applies to buying one of these: a 10 percent credit capped at $2,500 on EV charging equipment, which is limited to business use, and a 10 percent credit capped at $2,500 on a converted vehicle, which excludes hybrids outright. If you have seen a $7,500 figure attached to one of these vehicles — including in an earlier version of this page — it is out of date. The case for a plug-in here is fuel cost and home charging, not a credit.
Plug-in Hybrid Head-to-Head: Lexus RX 450h+ vs. BMW X5 xDrive50e vs. Mercedes-Benz GLE 450e
The Lexus RX 450h+ and BMW X5 xDrive50e are sold and serviced at Nalley franchises. Nalley holds no Mercedes-Benz franchise, so a GLE 450e reaches us as a pre-owned unit rather than a new car — still buyable online through Clicklane, with the same 7-day / 1,000-mile return. Where a manufacturer has not published a figure — Lexus system horsepower in its US materials, BMW MPGe and battery coverage — the cell says so rather than carrying an estimate.
← Swipe to compare →
| Specification | Lexus RX 450h+ | BMW X5 xDrive50e | Mercedes GLE 450e |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starting MSRP (PHEV) | $65,230 | $76,000 | $72,250 |
| System Horsepower | Not published in US materials | 483 hp | 381 hp |
| 0-60 mph | 6.2 sec | 4.6 sec | 5.8 sec |
| Battery Size | 18.1 kWh total — Lexus publishes no usable figure | 25.7 kWh | 23.3 kWh |
| EPA Electric Range | 38 miles | 38 miles | 49 miles |
| Gas-Only MPG (battery depleted) | 35 mpg | 22 mpg | 23 mpg |
| MPGe | 85 MPGe (mfr. est.) | Not published | 57 city / 63 hwy |
| Onboard Charger (Level 2) | 6.6 kW | 11 kW | 9.6 kW (AC) |
| Level 2 Charge Time (0–100%) | ~2.5 hrs | ~2.5 hrs | ~2.75 hrs |
| DC Fast Charging | AC only | AC only | 60 kW (10–80% in 20 min) |
| Charge Port | J1772 | J1772 | CCS / NACS adapter |
| EV-Only Top Speed | ~84 mph | 84 mph | ~87 mph |
| AWD in EV Mode | Standard | xDrive | 4MATIC |
| Air Suspension | Not standard | Optional (two-axle air) | Optional (AIRMATIC) |
| Towing Capacity (PHEV) | 3,500 lbs | 7,200 lbs | 7,700 lbs |
| Hybrid Battery Warranty | 10yr / 150K | Not published | 6yr / 62K |
| Rows / Seating | 2-row / 5 passengers | 2-row / 5 passengers | 2-row / 5 passengers |
*Fuel cost estimate based on 13,000 miles/year with 80% of miles driven on electricity at the Georgia Power Overnight Advantage super off-peak rate (~$0.057/kWh: a 2.1859¢ base rate plus 3.4747¢ time-of-use fuel cost recovery), remainder on gas at $4.04/gallon (AAA metro Atlanta, September 2026). Individual results vary significantly based on charging habits, commute length, and driving conditions. The federal clean vehicle credit terminated for vehicles acquired after September 30, 2025 and is not reflected in any figure here. All PHEV specifications from manufacturer and EPA data.
Mercedes-Benz GLE 450e
49 EPA-estimated electric miles — the longest of the three — 381 hp combined, and the only one here that accepts DC fast charging: 10 to 80 percent in about 20 minutes at 60 kW. For a commute inside 49 miles with a charger at home, most days use no gasoline at all. $72,250 excluding destination. Two things to know before you shop it: Mercedes drops the 450e for 2027, replacing it with the 429 hp GLE 500e and the 577 hp AMG GLE 53e, and Nalley holds no Mercedes-Benz franchise, so any GLE here is a pre-owned unit. No HOV or tax-credit benefit attaches to it, and we removed the claim that one did.
BMW X5 xDrive50e
483 hp and 516 lb-ft, 7,200 lbs of towing with the factory hitch, and a full AC charge in about two hours. 38 EPA-estimated electric miles. Two-axle air suspension is on the options list rather than standard, on this and on the xDrive40i. The performance benchmark of this trio — and note that an all-new X5 arrives as a 2027, rated 44 electric miles.
Lexus RX 450h+
85 MPGe on Lexus’s own manufacturer estimate, and a 10-year / 150,000-mile hybrid battery warranty — by far the longest of the three. 38 EPA-estimated electric miles. $65,230 excluding destination, the least expensive plug-in here. Lexus publishes no combined horsepower figure for it in its US materials — its UK site lists 304 bhp — so we leave that blank rather than borrow the RX 500h’s 366 hp.
Atlanta Luxury & Premium SUV Buying Guide
Real questions from Atlanta SUV shoppers. Specific answers.
GA-400 from Alpharetta. I-285 around the Perimeter. Lake Lanier on weekends. Blue Ridge and Dahlonega in fall. Here's how these SUVs perform on Atlanta's roads — with real towing numbers, fuel math, and local context.
Which SUV is easiest to park at Mercedes-Benz Stadium for a Falcons game or Atlanta United match?
Mercedes-Benz Stadium parking means the Green, Blue and Red decks or the surrounding surface lots, all of which funnel into the same post-event crawl toward the Downtown Connector. Length is what you feel. Among the nine here, the Lexus RX at 192.5 inches is the shortest, followed by the BMW X5 and Mercedes-Benz GLE, both 194.3 inches. All three are two-row vehicles, which is the real reason they park easily. If you need three rows, the spread is narrow and the shortest is the Acura MDX at 198.4 inches, then the Kia Telluride and Hyundai Palisade at 199.2 inches, the Audi Q7 at about 199.3, the Honda Pilot at 200.1 and the Toyota Grand Highlander at 201.4 — the longest vehicle on this page. Audi publishes no length for the Q7, so that one is a third-party figure. A 360-degree camera helps more than three inches of length does; it is standard on the MDX and available on the rest.
Which SUV parks most easily at Truist Park for a Braves game in Cumberland?
The Battery Atlanta garages have standard stall widths and tight helix turns, and the exit dumps you straight into the I-75/I-285 interchange. The Lexus RX at 192.5 inches is the easiest of these nine, with the BMW X5 and GLE at 194.3 just behind. For a season-ticket holder making 40 or more trips a year, the difference between a 192-inch two-row and a 200-inch three-row is real — you feel it backing into end-of-row spots on the upper decks. Among three-row options the Acura MDX (198.4 in) is the shortest and the Grand Highlander (201.4 in) is the longest of all nine. One local note: Nalley Toyota Marietta sits on Cobb Parkway, which is the road most north-side fans already take to the ballpark, so you can test a Grand Highlander on your actual game-day route.
Which SUV is best for a night at the Fox Theatre in Midtown Atlanta?
The Fox sits on Peachtree Street surrounded by mid-century decks with narrow ramps and clearances that were set long before SUVs looked like this. Height matters as much as length here, and it is the one dimension we would tell you to check against the posted sign at the deck entrance rather than against a spec sheet, because the older structures vary and none of them publish a figure you can look up in advance. Practically, a two-row is the easy answer: the Lexus RX, BMW X5 or GLE. If you are in a three-row and valet is available, take it. Worth knowing that the X5 xDrive50e and GLE 450e both run in electric mode at low speed, which is a quieter, cleaner way to sit in a queue on Peachtree than a V6 at idle.
Which SUV handles Hartsfield-Jackson airport runs and the Downtown Connector best?
An airport run is two problems: luggage and stop-and-go. Behind a raised third row, the Kia Telluride leads at 22.3 cu ft and the Honda Pilot is effectively level with it at 21.8 to 22.4 depending on trim — Honda also publishes an 18.6 cu ft figure measured to a lower load line, which is why the Pilot reads worse than it packs when the two get quoted side by side. The Hyundai Palisade holds 19.1 cu ft and the Acura MDX is tightest at 16.3. Two-row shoppers get far more: the BMW X5 has 33.9 cu ft and the GLE 33.3 behind the second row. For the Connector itself, the electrified models are the ones that actually save money in stop-and-go, because that is where a hybrid recaptures energy instead of burning fuel idling. The Grand Highlander Hybrid and Lexus RX 350h are the efficiency picks. Toyota has not published a city/highway split for the Grand Highlander Hybrid, only an "up to 36 mpg combined" manufacturer estimate for the front-drive XLE — all-wheel drive is 34 and the Hybrid MAX 27 — so treat that as provisional.
Which premium SUV is best for I-285 perimeter commuting?
I-285 is relentless stop-and-go, which is exactly the duty cycle a hybrid is built for. On verified figures the Lexus RX 350h at 36 mpg combined and the front-drive XLE Grand Highlander Hybrid at up to 36 mpg lead this group — though both numbers carry a caveat. The RX figure is Lexus's 2025 number; Lexus published no EPA data at all in its 2026 RX release, and its own 2026 spec sheet is not publicly retrievable. Toyota's is a manufacturer estimate rather than a final EPA rating, and it belongs to one trim: the all-wheel-drive hybrid is 34 mpg and the Hybrid MAX 27. At 15,000 miles a year and $4.04 a gallon for regular — metro Atlanta's average per AAA in September 2026 — 36 mpg runs about $1,683 a year against roughly $2,755 for a 22 mpg V6. That gap of about $1,070 a year is the honest version of the case for a hybrid on this road. Note that several vehicles on this page specify premium fuel, which the estimate does not account for; check the window sticker.
Which premium SUV is best for GA-400 commuters from Roswell, Alpharetta, or Milton?
GA-400 into Buckhead is a mixed commute — open highway at the north end, heavy congestion south of the river. Hybrids win the congested half. The Lexus RX 350h and Grand Highlander Hybrid are the efficiency leaders, and the Palisade Hybrid and Telluride Hybrid bring three rows to the same argument. One correction worth stating plainly, because this page previously got it wrong: a plug-in hybrid buys you no lane advantage on GA-400. The federal exemption that let alternative-fuel vehicles use Georgia HOV lanes with a single occupant expired on September 30, 2025. GA-400 has no HOV lanes in the first place — Georgia's HOV network is on I-20, I-75 and I-85. The GA-400 Express Lanes began construction in April 2026 and are not expected to reach substantial completion until 2031. Buy a PHEV for the fuel and the quiet, not for a lane.
Which SUV is best for I-75 commuters from Marietta, Kennesaw, or Acworth?
Long highway miles at speed, which flatters a hybrid less than I-285 does but still rewards it. The Lexus RX 350h is the efficiency pick among two-rows; the Grand Highlander Hybrid among three-rows. If your I-75 commute is mostly open highway rather than crawling, the calculus shifts and a torquey gas engine is less of a penalty than it looks. The BMW X5 xDrive40i posts 23 city / 27 highway — BMW does not publish a combined figure — and the Mercedes GLE 350 4MATIC posts 19/26, or 21/28 in rear-drive form.
Which SUV handles I-20 and I-85 for East and South Atlanta commuters?
I-20 East through Decatur and Lithonia and I-85 South through College Park are both heavy merge-and-brake corridors where adaptive cruise and lane centering earn their keep. Every vehicle on this page has automatic emergency braking and full-speed adaptive cruise as standard equipment. On safety credentials specifically, and this is where we have corrected the record: four of these nine hold a 2026 IIHS award. The BMW X5 is a Top Safety Pick+, the Hyundai Palisade is a Top Safety Pick+ but only on vehicles built after November 2025, the 2027 Kia Telluride is a Top Safety Pick+ on builds after June 2026, and the Audi Q7 is a Top Safety Pick — not a Pick+ — in the large-SUV class. The RX, MDX, Grand Highlander, Pilot and GLE hold no 2026 award, though the MDX and Pilot were 2025 Top Safety Picks and the GLE a 2025 Pick+.
Which SUV handles rush hour on Cobb Parkway and Peachtree Street most comfortably?
Surface-street rush hour is the single best case for an electrified drivetrain, because a hybrid or PHEV spends much of it on the motor rather than the engine. The RX 350h, Grand Highlander Hybrid, Palisade Hybrid and Telluride Hybrid all shine here. The three plug-ins go further: the GLE 450e covers 49 EPA-estimated electric miles, and the X5 xDrive50e and Lexus RX 450h+ each cover 38. For a Cobb Parkway commute inside those ranges you may use no gasoline on a normal day, provided you can charge at home.
Which premium SUV tows best to Lake Lanier or Lake Allatoona?
On verified manufacturer ratings, two vehicles tie at the top: the Mercedes-Benz GLE 450 4MATIC at 7,700 lb and the Audi Q7 55 TFSI at 7,700 lb. The BMW X5 comes next at 7,200 lb. Every one of those figures requires the factory hitch — BMW states this explicitly, Audi requires its towing package and a 7-pin adapter, and Mercedes does not state a hitch requirement on its own page, which is worth confirming with your Nalley associate before you buy for towing. Below the German three, the Q7 45 TFSI drops to 4,400 lb — a big gap inside one nameplate, so check which engine you are looking at. Among three-rows, the Acura MDX SH-AWD, Honda Pilot AWD, Kia Telluride, Hyundai Palisade and Grand Highlander all rate 5,000 lb. Three caveats attach to that: the Palisade needs trailer brakes to reach it and drops to 1,650 lb without them, the Palisade Hybrid maxes out at 4,000 lb, and the Grand Highlander reaches 5,000 lb with either the 2.4-litre turbo gas engine or the Hybrid MAX while its standard hybrid tows 3,500. The Lexus RX is the weakest here at 3,500 lb. One stale number we removed: the 2025 Telluride X-Pro was rated 5,500 lb, and that rating did not carry over to the all-new 2027. Both the 2027 Telluride and its X-Pro trim rate 5,000 lb, and the new Telluride Hybrid rates 4,500.
Which SUV is best for weekend drives to North Georgia — Blue Ridge, Dahlonega, and the mountain roads?
Mountain roads reward torque and all-wheel drive. The BMW X5 M60i at 523 hp and 553 lb-ft is the performance answer, and the MDX Type S at 355 hp with SH-AWD is the value-per-horsepower answer. Both are premium-fuel vehicles on long grades. For a family that wants three rows and does not need to break traction records, the Telluride Hybrid at 329 hp and Palisade Hybrid at 329 hp are well matched, and the Grand Highlander Hybrid MAX at 362 hp tows 5,000 lb where the standard Grand Highlander Hybrid manages only 3,500 — an inversion buyers routinely get backwards.
Which premium SUV is best for a weekend getaway to Savannah or the Georgia coast?
Atlanta to Savannah is about 250 miles of open I-16, which is a cargo-and-comfort question more than an efficiency one. For maximum luggage with the family aboard, the Kia Telluride's 22.3 cu ft behind the third row leads the three-rows, and the Honda Pilot's 48.5 cu ft behind the second row leads once you fold row three. Two-row travellers do better still: the BMW X5 offers 33.9 cu ft behind the second row and the GLE 33.3. The Lexus RX has 29.6. Audi publishes no cargo figures at all for the 2026 Q7 — the 68.1 cu ft seats-folded number in circulation is third-party — so we cannot place it in this ranking honestly.
Can I buy any of these SUVs online from Nalley and have it delivered to my Atlanta home?
Yes, with one distinction worth stating. Eight of the nine nameplates here are Nalley new-car franchises — Lexus, Acura, Toyota, Honda, Kia, Hyundai, BMW and Audi — and any of them can be bought start to finish through Clicklane: browse real inventory, take an instant trade-in offer, choose financing from multiple lenders, and sign digitally, with no dealership visit required at any point. Nalley holds no Mercedes-Benz franchise, so a GLE reaches us as a pre-owned unit rather than a new car. It is still buyable online; it is simply not a new-car purchase here. Then choose home delivery or pickup at any of Nalley's 15 Atlanta-area locations. Every eligible Clicklane purchase carries a 7-day / 1,000-mile return period with no restocking fee — whichever of the two comes first. The fine print worth knowing up front: you cover the cost of getting the vehicle back to us, refunds take up to seven business days to process, and if your trade-in has already been sold or gone into reconditioning we pay you its allowance rather than returning the car. After the sale you have 15 local service centers and 5 I-CAR Gold collision centers behind you. Nalley has served Georgia drivers since 1918.
What is a PHEV, and which plug-in SUVs can I buy from Nalley in Atlanta?
A plug-in hybrid electric vehicle has a battery large enough to drive on electricity alone for a meaningful distance, then runs as a conventional hybrid once the charge is used. You can charge it at home overnight; you never have to. Three appear on this page. The Mercedes-Benz GLE 450e 4MATIC has the longest electric range at 49 EPA-estimated miles, makes 381 hp combined, and is the only one here that accepts DC fast charging — 10 to 80 percent in about 20 minutes at 60 kW. The BMW X5 xDrive50e covers 38 electric miles with 483 hp and a full AC charge in about two hours. The Lexus RX 450h+ also covers 38 electric miles and carries the longest hybrid-battery warranty of the three at 10 years / 150,000 miles. The RX 450h+ and the X5 xDrive50e are Nalley franchises; the GLE is not, so a 450e comes to us pre-owned. Three honest caveats. Lexus does not publish a combined horsepower figure for the 450h+ in its US materials, so we leave it blank rather than repeat the 366 hp number that actually belongs to the RX 500h. Mercedes drops the 450e for 2027, replacing it with the 429 hp GLE 500e and the 577 hp AMG GLE 53e, so a 450e is now a used-market proposition either way. And there is no federal clean vehicle tax credit available on any of these — the credit terminated for vehicles acquired after September 30, 2025.
Do plug-in hybrids get HOV or express lane access in Georgia?
No, and any page still telling you otherwise is out of date — including an earlier version of this one. The federal provision that allowed alternative-fuel vehicles to use Georgia HOV lanes with a single occupant expired on September 30, 2025. Since then, an alternative-fuel vehicle must carry two or more occupants to use an HOV lane anywhere in Georgia, exactly like any other vehicle. Three related corrections. Georgia's program is the Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) license plate — there is no "Clean Energy Vehicle" or "CEV" plate. The annual AFV fee is $238.59 for a non-commercial vehicle as of July 1, 2026, and the plate runs about $293.59 a year all in once the $20 registration and $35 special-tag fees are added, plus a one-time $25 manufacturing fee and your ad valorem — so applying for it buys a cost rather than a benefit if a lane was your reason. And GA-400 has no HOV lanes at all; Georgia's HOV network runs on I-20, I-75 and I-85. Express lanes are a separate system: the tolled lanes on I-85 in Gwinnett, the I-75 Northwest Corridor and I-75 South Metro are open to any vehicle that pays, with no plate or occupancy requirement. The GA-400 Express Lanes broke ground in April 2026 with substantial completion expected in 2031. Buy a plug-in for the fuel savings, the quiet, and the home-charging convenience. Those are real. The lane is not.
Is there a 2027 Kia Telluride?
No. Kia skipped the 2026 model year for the Telluride entirely. The sequence runs from the 2025 model to an all-new 2027 that went on sale in the first quarter of 2026. Our own Telluride inventory reflects that gap: new 2027s alongside pre-owned 2024s and earlier, with nothing badged 2026 because nothing was built that way. If you see a "2026 Telluride" advertised anywhere, it is a mislabeled 2025 or 2027. The generation change matters beyond the badge. The 2027 moves from a 291 hp V6 to a 274 hp 2.5-litre turbo four, adds a 329 hp Hybrid for the first time, grows to 199.2 inches, and gains cargo space behind the third row (22.3 cu ft, up from 21.0). It also loses towing capacity on the X-Pro, from 5,500 lb to 5,000.
Which of these SUVs holds a 2026 IIHS award?
Four of the nine. The BMW X5 is a Top Safety Pick+. The Hyundai Palisade is a Top Safety Pick+, but the award applies only to vehicles built after November 2025 — check the door-jamb sticker, because an early-build 2026 Palisade is not covered. The 2027 Kia Telluride is a Top Safety Pick+ on vehicles built after June 2026, and the build date matters there too: its headlights rate Good on those later builds and Marginal on anything built before July 2026. The Audi Q7 is a Top Safety Pick, not a Pick+, and it is rated in the large-SUV class. The Lexus RX, Acura MDX, Toyota Grand Highlander, Honda Pilot and Mercedes-Benz GLE hold no 2026 award. Three of them did win the year before: the MDX and Pilot were 2025 Top Safety Picks, and the GLE a 2025 Top Safety Pick+ when fitted with the optional pedestrian front crash prevention system. Two things worth saying clearly. "No 2026 award" does not mean a vehicle is unsafe; IIHS raises its criteria most years, and a vehicle can lose an award it held the year before without anything about the car changing. And do not confuse siblings: the Lexus NX, BMW X3, Audi Q5, Mercedes GLC and Honda Passport all won 2026 awards while the RX, GLE and Pilot did not.
What are the NHTSA star ratings for these SUVs?
Eight of the nine carry an NHTSA overall rating, and the spec table above labels each one with the model year that was actually tested, because NHTSA does not re-test every nameplate every year. Seven are 5 stars overall: the Lexus RX 350, Toyota Grand Highlander, Hyundai Palisade and Audi Q7 on 2026 testing, and the Honda Pilot, Kia Telluride and front-drive Acura MDX on 2025 testing. The BMW X5 is 4 stars overall on 2025 testing of the all-wheel-drive version; the rear-drive X5 has no overall rating. Three gaps are worth naming rather than papering over. The all-wheel-drive MDX has no overall rating, so the 5-star figure belongs to the front-drive car only. The Mercedes-Benz GLE has no overall rating at all — it scored 5 stars in the side test and 4 in rollover, but the frontal test has not been run, and NHTSA will not compute an overall figure without it. And the Telluride's most recent entry is the 2025 model, with nothing yet for the all-new 2027. A missing rating is missing data, not a poor result, which is why we print the gap rather than borrowing a number from a different model year. You can look up any of it yourself at nhtsa.gov/ratings.
Buy Online. Drive It. Love It — or Return It.
Eight of the nine nameplates on this page are Nalley franchises, and every one of them can be bought through Clicklane — 100% online, delivered to your door in Georgia or anywhere nationwide. Then you get 7 days and 1,000 miles to make sure it's right. Drive it on GA-400. Haul your boat to Lake Lanier. Road trip to Blue Ridge. If it's not perfect — return it. No questions. No fees.
- 7
- Day return window
- 1,000
- Mile try-it period
- $0
- Restocking fee
- 15
- Atlanta locations